Research Guides: *Social work: Articles

General social work databases

Social Services Abstracts - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1979-current.
Sociological Abstracts - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
International literature in sociology and related disciplines.Coverage 1952 - current.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly articles. Use Advanced Search to limit it Social Work or related disciplines.

Social work resources - by field of practice

If your research is focused on a specific field of practice (e.g. education, medicine), it may be helpful to use the subject specific databases for that field.

Focus your search in the databases below by including "social work" in your search terms.

ERIC - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Core Education database.
Education Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education.
CINAHL Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source for nursing and allied health fields.
Criminal Justice Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
450 publications including 200+ titles in full-text supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.

Is this source scholarly?

The library databases generally contain a mix of popular (non-scholarly) and scholarly sources. It is important for you to make sure that the sources you locate meet the requirements your professor has listed in your assignment.

The handout below provides a set of simple clues to help you determine if the source you have located is scholarly or not.

Scholarly source handout