Research Guides: Higher Education Student Affairs : Start Here

Welcome

What's in this guide

This guide will point you to high quality research resources for your courses. If you have any questions, concerns, or suggestions, please contact the subject librarian.

Below are some top picks for databases you can use in this program.

Directory of Open Access Journals
OAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.
Education Database - ProQuest
Full-text access to over 600 titles. Coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education.
Education Research Complete - EBSCO
Partial access to more than 14,000 full text journals and 550 books in the field.
Educator's Reference Complete - Gale Onefile
"Gain insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy. Best for educators, administrators, and education students."
ERIC - ProQuest
U.S. Dept of Education database provides access to articles, conference proceedings, reports, and more. Look for "link to full-text" options.
JSTOR
Full-text access to core journals in many fields. Use advanced search to limit results to specific discipline (e.g., History, Education).
Professional Development Collection - EBSCO
"Professional Development Collection is a highly specialized database of full-text electronic information especially for educators, professional librarians and education researchers. "
Sociological Abstracts - ProQuest
This key Sociology database contains literature on the sociology of education that may be relevant to your research.

The resources below contain testing instruments, many of which can be downloaded and used for student research.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
"...a comprehensive guide to over 3000 contemporary testing instruments" for subjects like education, psychology, social work, and counseling psychology
PsycTests - EBSCO
Contains thousands of research instruments, many of which can be downloaded, that can be used for psychology, counseling psychology, education, and social work

Streaming media

Alexander Street Press Academic Video Online
An interdisciplinary collection of over 23,000 videos provided by Alexander Street Press on subjects ranging from Business, Communication studies, Counseling psychology, Criminal justice, Economics, Education, Engineering, English, History, Music, Political science, Psychology, Social work, Sociology and cultural anthropology, and Theater Arts. Easy to find, clip and embed video content for presentations.
PBS video