Research Guides: Russian film & lit: Home

Russian film and literature

Howdy ENG 380/ENG 307/ENG 385/COM 307/IDS 301 students! This research guide has been created to help you conduct research for this class! If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me and I will do what I can. Sometimes, researching films/filmmakers can be pretty tricky.

Movie poster for Battleship Poetmkin (Sergi Eisentein, 1925), image in the public domain

Saints search can be a good place to start research, but be aware you will get many hits in many different formats.

Saints Search

Below are selected subject terms that you can use in your searching:

Motion pictures -- Soviet Union -- History

Motion pictures -- Russia (Federation) -- History

Motion pictures -- Political aspects -- Soviet Union

Motion pictures -- Russia (Federation) -- History -- 21st century

Patriotism in motion pictures

Russia (Federation) -- In motion pictures

Dramatic Arts

Film

Film Genres

Satire

Comedy

U.S.S.R.

Cinematography

Motion pictures -- Russia

Motion pictures -- Russia -- History

Motion pictures -- Soviet Union

Film soundtracks -- Soviet Union

Motion picture music -- Soviet Union -- History and criticism

Also, you can search by a film's title, by director, etc.

eBook collections

Wiley Online Books This link opens in a new window
Gives access to many ebooks from Wiley, a very reputable publisher; many can be downloaded full text
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Gives access to many ebooks in a variety of subjects, many from scholarly publishers
ACLS Humanities E-books This link opens in a new window
Gives access to a large collection of full-text humanities books

The following databases will be particularly good for finding information sources for film and literary studies.

Background information sources

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gives access to many different subject-specific background information sources, including film/filmmakers
Literature - Gale This link opens in a new window
Gives access to a comprehensive collection of literary criticism, biographies, overviews, and other types of sources

Scholarly databases for film

Screen Studies Collection - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Gives access to scholarly publications specifically on film and television
Communication & Mass Media Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Gives access to sources on communications, mass media, and related topics
Arts & Humanities Full Text - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Gives access to sources on all forms of humanities topics
International Index to Performing Arts Full Text - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Gives access to many records on the arts and entertainment
NOTE: This is an index, so there are not many full text entries; you will have to use the "Find SMU full text" option or use interlibrary loan
Cambridge University Press Journal Package This link opens in a new window
Gives full-text access to journals from Cambridge University Press, including a collection on film studies
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Gives access to a comprehensive collection of humanities journals

JSTOR: Film Studies
Gives access to the film studies collection in JSTOR

Scholarly databases for literature

MLA International Bibliography - Full text - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Gives access to primarily literary sources, but does include some film criticism

JSTOR, Slavic Studies
Gives access to Slavic Studies sources; Russian is a primary area in Slavic Studies
JSTOR, Language & Literature
Gives access to sources for language and literary studies

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Gives access to a premier source of humanities scholarship; our subscription covers articles only

Below are several related databases that could be used in your research.

International Bibliography of Art (IBA) - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Gives access to primarily visual art sources, but does have some coverage on film
NOTE:This is an index, so there are not many full text entries; you will have to use the "Find SMU full text" option or use interlibrary loan
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Gives access to sources in many different disciplines
World History - Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gives access to a broad spectrum of reference materials, scholarly journals, primary source documents, etc. on history
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Gives access to a broad variety of sources on contemporary and modern art
NOTE: This is an index, so there are not many full text entries; you will have to use the "Find SMU full text" option or use interlibrary loan