*History

Search 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, 19th Century British Newspapers and the Illustrated London News in one simple search.

ArchiveGrid includes over four million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.

A collection of FBI files on prominent African American individuals and organizations provided by Gale Cengage. Files include documents on Thurgood Marshall, Malcom X, Jesse Jackson, W.E.B. Du Bois, NAACP and others. Date range: 1920-1984.

A collection of documents from the FBI Library (1960-1969) on an anti-communist organization, the Minutemen.

"The American Enterprise Institute database brings AEI's collection of scholarship to HeinOnline, providing access to works published by the Institute in HeinOnline's fully-searchable image-based format. Unique to this collection is the ability to search by Policy Area, a subject identifier assigned by AEI to each of their publications that organizes their works into the following areas: economics, foreign and defense policy, society and culture, health care, politics and public opinion, poverty studies, and education; additional Policy Areas within each of these main categories further organize publications into more specific areas of scope. More information on the American Enterprise Institute and their work can be found on the Institute's website: https://www.aei.org/"

"The Bremer-Kovacs Collection: Historic Documents Related to the Administrative Procedure Act of 1946 is a comprehensive collection designed to make the APA’s history more accessible and understandable. The Collection begins in 1929 with the APA’s first predecessors: bills to regulate administrative procedure that were introduced in Congress but never enacted. The Collection’s coverage expands in 1933, tracking heightened interest in administrative reform following President Roosevelt’s first inauguration and spurred on by the New Deal expansion of the federal administrative apparatus. The Collection includes a comprehensive legislative history of the Walter-Logan Bill of 1940, which Congress approved but President Roosevelt vetoed, as well as later bills that culminated in the Administrative Procedure Act of 1946 (APA). "

"The Brennan Center for Justice Publications database brings the Center’s scholarship to HeinOnline, providing access to works published by the Center in HeinOnline’s fully searchable, image-based format. More information on the Brennan Center can be found on their website: https://www.brennancenter.org/"

"HeinOnline’s Civil Rights database brings together a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans. Containing hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislations, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, this database allows users to educate themselves on the ways our civil rights have been strengthened and expanded over time, as well as how these legal protections can go further still. A curated list of scholarly articles, a varied collection of books on many civil rights topics, and a list of prominent civil rights organizations help take the research beyond HeinOnline. "

"Comprehensive digital coverage of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), the codification of the general and permanent rules and regulations published in the Federal Register."

"HeinOnline has launched COVID-19: Pandemics Past and Present to spread information. Compiling together publications on the various ways COVID-19 has impacted every aspect of life, from testing issues, to stimulus payments, to the quest for a vaccine, this database organizes content on COVID-19 into the following areas of focus: Economic Impact, Global Impact, Health Care Impact, and Societal Impact, with an expanding selection of scholarly articles and links to take your learning beyond HeinOnline. Importantly, this collection also features a subcollection dedicated to Past Pandemics, allowing researchers access to ways the federal government has responded to medical disasters of the past and how these previous pandemics inform today’s response. This database, much like our understanding of COVID-19, will continue to evolve over the coming months and years as new content is published and integrated with regular updates. "

"
HeinOnline’s Criminal Justice & Criminology offers an historical overview of these ever-changing disciplines and their various expressions in American and English law over time. Collecting Bureau of Justice statistics, memoirs of retired Scotland Yard investigators, congressional hearings on drug control policies, accounts of prison life in days long past and much more, this collection explores how criminal justice has changed in America and the effect criminology has had on those changes. It collects government documents as well as rare or hard to find pamphlets, memoirs, and books written by ordinary law enforcement officers and not-so-famous criminals. To help users navigate the content spanning these two wide-reaching disciplines, all titles in this collection have been subject coded into 16 subject areas: Attorney General, Crimes and Criminals, Criminal Statistics, Criminology, Drug Enforcement, Government Law, Investigation and Forensics, Juvenile Justice, Law and Procedure, Law Enforcement, Organized Crime, Penology, Reform and Recidivism, Reminiscences, Sex Crimes, and Victimology. "

"To help understand this mighty but sometimes fuzzy power, HeinOnline presents a new database devoted exclusively to executive privilege. This database provides primary and secondary source material such as government documents from the executive, legislative, and judicial branches, as well as law review articles and books invoking, debating, and exploring instances of executive privilege from the country’s founding to the present day. Compiled by Maxwell Anderson, a graduate of University of Nebraska College of Law, the Executive Privilege Database provides comprehensive treatment of this issue. Each document within the collection is coded with the presidential administration, document type and category, and issuing branch of government for easy discoverability. Additional facets include any specific controversy surrounding when an executive privilege was invoked (such as Aaron Burr’s treason trial, the Army-McCarthy hearings, and Watergate) and the specific privilege asserted (such as state secrets, deliberative process privilege, and immunity from compelled congressional testimony), if applicable."

"A complete digitized archive of the Federal Register that spans back to inception and is updated daily. Featuring additional access to the Code of Federal Regulations, the Official U.S. Bulletin , the Code of Emergency Federal Regulations, presidential documents and records, and more. "

"The official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity, as well as the entirety of Title 22 (Foreign Relations) of the Code of Federal Regulations and more than 1,300 related works. "

"A digital collection of reports on audits, surveys, investigations, and evaluations conducted by the United States Government Accountability Office (GAO)."

"This new HeinOnline collection brings together more than 500 titles dealing with this difficult and important topic. Included are periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, and more. Links to nearly 500 scholarly articles,* an extensive bibliography, and a balanced selection of external resources to further research this subject are also provided. Research the National Firearms Act, the Miller and Heller decisions, and other key aspects of this subject."

"More than 2,800 titles relating to the history of international law, with specialization in subjects such as war and peace, law of the sea, international arbitration, The Hague conferences, and more."

"Featuring the definitive documented history of both successful and unsuccessful Supreme Court nominations through that of Associate Amy Coney Barrett."

"An expansive archive of materials related to indigenous American life and law, including hundreds of treaties, tribal codes, constitutions, treaty-related publications, and more."

"The President John F. Kennedy Assassination Records Collection Act of 1992 directed the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) to create a collection consisting of all U.S. government documents relating to the 1963 assassination of President John F. Kennedy, including any state or local law enforcement materials. The resulting Collection consists of more than 5 million pages of assassination-related records, photographs, motion pictures, sound recordings and artifacts (approximately 2,000 cubic feet of records). "

"To help understand both the current landscape faced by workers today and the complex history that helped create this environment, HeinOnline has released Labor and Employment: The American Worker. This sprawling database brings together legislative histories on major legislation, briefs from Supreme Court cases, accounts of labor riots from the not-so-distant past, reports on working conditions of today, and more. HeinOnline editors have analyzed every title within this massive collection and assigned each title one (or more) 18 new title-level subjects. These subjects cover issues such as Pensions & Retirement, Employment Benefits, Workplace Protections and Discrimination, and Wages, and are browsable or searchable, to better allow users to target their research."

"HeinOnline presents its newest addition to the Social Justice Suite, LGBTQ+ Rights. This collection charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today. All titles in this collection have been assigned one or more title-level subjects relating to their scope, and are further divided into six subcollections, whose areas of focus constitute Marriage and Family, Employment Discrimination, Military Service, AIDS and Health Care, and Public Spaces and Accommodations. A separate subcollection, Historical Attitudes and Analysis, presents books, pamphlets, reports, and more from the 18th century through the mid-20th century. Content in this subcollection includes accounts of individuals criminally tried for their sexuality to attempts to find a medical cause for homosexuality.

This collection is rounded out by a curated list of Scholarly Articles selected by Hein editors, as well as a Bibliography of titles to launch your research outside of HeinOnline. Finally, an interactive timeline, incorporating documents from HeinOnline with other media from around the internet, plots out an overview of LGBTQ rights in America from 1950 to the present day, helping to demonstrate the relevancy of the content within the database to the real-world events to which they are connected. "

"HeinOnline’s Military and Government collection brings together thousands of diverse publications related to the history, glory, might, and daily nitty-gritty of administrating America’s fighting forces. Composed of books, congressional hearings, committee prints, legislative histories, CRS and GAO Reports, and more, this database allows users to research the functions of the federal government in administrating the armed forces and the issues confronting service personnel both on and off the battlefield, from women’s changing role in the military, hollow forces, the development of new weaponry, free speech rights, and navigating benefits offered by the Department of Veterans Affairs after service. With funding to the Department of Defense making up the largest portion of the U.S. federal budget—spending more on its military than any other country in the world, at $721.5 billion in FY2020—users will find a large number of publications devoted to appropriating, authorizing, and accounting for funds spent by the military, as well as debate on the necessity and effects of spending such large sums. Legislative histories on relevant legislation—on Selective Service, military justice, war claims, veteran’s health care, the Posse Comitatus Act, and more—help to flesh out the interaction of the federal government with the functioning of the military and its structural changes over time. Coverage in this collection deals with military issues from the American Revolution on up to the present War on Terror, with selected titles from English military history to supplement understanding of the development of America’s own military law. To aid users as they navigate the amount of content in this collection, HeinOnline editors have subject coded every title in this collection based on its content and service branch (when applicable)."

"HeinOnline has developed the Military Legal Resources (U.S. Army JAG School) in conjunction with the William Winthrop Memorial Library of the U.S. Army Judge Advocate General’s School to replace the Winthrop Library’s Military Legal Resources collection previously hosted by the Library of Congress. The goal of the collection is exhaustiveness. It aims to collect every current and historical military legal document and resource needed by judge advocates, law school professors, and members of the general public interested in military law. New materials will be added to the collection on a regular basis. "

"The Open Society Justice Initiative, part of the Open Society Foundations, was established in 2003 to provide expert legal support for Open Society's broader mission and values through strategic human rights litigation and other legal work. The Justice Initiative publishes reports, handbooks, briefing papers, legal and policy submissions, and fact sheets exploring and advocating on issues of human rights and justice. Beyond their publications, the Justice Initiative represents individuals before domestic and international human rights tribunals. Their advocacy work targets national and regional policymakers and governments to advance human rights and the rule of law, and they support local, national, and international efforts to expand access to justice.

Open Society Foundations were founded by George Soros and are the world’s largest private funder of independent groups working for justice, democratic governance, and human rights. Today, the Foundations fund groups and projects in more than 120 countries.

The Open Society Justice Initiative database brings the Justice Initiative’s scholarship to HeinOnline, providing access to works published by the Justice Initiative in HeinOnline’s fully searchable, image-based format. To learn more about the Open Society Foundation and the Justice Initiative, please visit their website at https://www.justiceinitiative.org/"

"A digital version of the formerly top-secret Pentagon Papers, a report from the U.S. Department of Defense of the country’s involvement in Vietnam from 1945 to 1967."

"HeinOnline’s Religion and the Law is an extensive research platform for studying the development, history, organization, and fundamental principles of various world religions. Featuring canon law publications, materials on church and state, rare historical bibles, books, periodicals and more extending back to the 1400s."

"This work is the most current and comprehensive listing of publications created by presidential advisory bodies, and will be useful to researchers interested in U.S. history, political science, and law. Presidents have created such advisory groups (also called committees, commissions, boards, blue ribbon panels, or task forces) to advise them on particular problems or issues such Pearl Harbor, civil rights, the status of women, the assassination of JFK, the 1967 riots, Iran Contra, HIV/AIDS, the Challenger Space Shuttle accident, and 9/11.

The bibliographic listings of more than 6,900 reports and other documents from the administrations of Andrew Jackson to Joseph Biden are indexed by commission/advisory body name, report title, report subject and presidential administration. Links to the full text of the reports are provided whenever possible. The companion database contains not only the bibliographic listing of reports but also many reports themselves as well as related United States congressional hearings, scholarly articles, and a bibliography."

"This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Our cases go into the 20th century, because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery. To give one example, as late as 1901 Chief Justice Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr. of the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court had to decide if a man, both of whose parents had been slaves, could be the legitimate heir of his father, because under southern law, slaves could never be legally married. The library has hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery—defending it, attacking it or simply analyzing it. We have gathered every English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, which includes many essays and articles in obscure, hard-to-find journals in the United States and elsewhere. We have provided more than a thousand pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century. We provide word searchable access to all Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880. We have also included many modern histories of slavery. Within this library is a section containing all modern law review articles on the subject. This library will continue to grow, not only from new scholarship but also from historical material that we continue to locate and add to the collection."

"State Constitutions Illustrated is an essential digital platform for finding authoritative state history resources."

"Access comprehensive coverage of the United States Code, dating back to inception in 1925-1926, all within a single-source, fully searchable format."

"The complete Congressional Record bound volume set from its inception, plus its three predecessor titles, congressional hearings, the U.S. Congressional Serial Set and more."

"Now digitized in HeinOnline, the U.S. Congressional Serial Set is a must-have publication for studying American history. More than two centuries of documents spanning more than 17,000 volumes make this publication an indispensable resource for understanding the development of the United States."

"Featuring reports, decisions, and records, this database is a complete collection of the official case law of the most important U.S. federal agencies. "

"The richest collection of compiled federal legislative histories available containing more than 2,700 titles from a variety of resources."

"To help researchers understand these rare but always fascinating historical events, HeinOnline now offers a new collection, U.S. Presidential Impeachment. Organized by the four affected presidents, this collection brings together a variety of documents both contemporaneous and asynchronous to each president's impeachment, presenting both a snapshot of the political climate as each impeachment played out and the long view history has taken of each proceeding. Congressional Research Service reports round out a general discussion of presidential impeachment and a curated list of scholarly articles, links to additional sources from around the web, and a bibliography provide avenues for further research on this topic. We are especially pleased to include the ever-growing resource Whistleblower Complaint on Ukraine, compiled by Kelly Smith at UC San Diego, which brings together official documents related to Alexander Vindman's whistleblower complaint from Donald Trump's first impeachment. Research not just the past but our fascinating present with HeinOnline."

"An extensive collection of presidential documents, consisting of messages and papers of the presidents, presidential public papers, documents relating to impeachment, executive orders, and more. "

"Digital access to the Attorney General reports and opinions for Washington State"

"Provides titles related to the development and history of states"

"The Session Laws Library contains exact replications of the bound session laws of Washington State in an easily searchable database platform."

"Explore the most detailed and updated state report checklist currently available, along with linking to full text of historical state reports."

"A valuable source of information for researchers and scholars to explore and understand the creation of historical state statutes."

"This database offers comprehensive coverage of the United States Statutes at Large, featuring every law (both public and private) ever enacted by Congress, as well as early federal codes and compilations of statutes."

"HeinOnline provides the only complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports, an indexed compilation of the official full text of all decisions of the Supreme Court of the United States and the official record of its rulings, orders, case tables, and other proceedings. In addition to the U.S. Reports, the 600+ titles in HeinOnline's U.S. Supreme Court Library include books, periodicals CRS reports, rules of the Court, and external links. Users can navigate the database using various tools, including HeinOnline's ScholarCheck, linking to case law with FastCase, and linking to Oyez, a complete and authoritative source for Supreme Court audio."

"This valuable database includes every treaty to which the U.S. has been a party, whether currently in force, expired, or not-yet officially published—this includes those treaties and agreements between the U.S. and Native American tribes. With more than 1,200 titles and 1.1 million pages, this database includes prominent collections such as the United States Treaties and Other International Agreements set (commonly referred to as the “Blue Set”), as well as famous sets from Bevans, Miller, Malloy, and others."

"Women and the Law (Peggy), a database that brings together thousands of books, biographies, and periodicals that allow users to research the progression of women’s rights over the past 200 years. Discover primary legal and political sources as well as secondary scholarly analysis of issues such as abortion, women in the workforce, the education of women, women’s suffrage, and more.

Affectionately nicknamed for the mother of Hein’s CEO (Margaret “Peggy” Marmion), this database also includes titles from Emory University Law School’s Feminism and Legal Theory Project which provide a platform to view the effect of law and culture on the female gender."

"Research the constitutional and political development of every country in the world with HeinOnline’s World Constitutions Illustrated: Contemporary & Historical Documents & Resources. Within this resource, find the current constitution of every country in the world, as well as constitutional histories for each country, consisting of the constitution’s original text, amending laws, consolidated text, and important related texts. Also find constitutional periodicals, thousands of classic books, other related works such as the World Factbook, links to scholarly articles and online resources, and bibliographic references."