This guide is intended to connect the Saint Martin's community with resources related to various facets of self-care. Topics include mental and physical health, and faith.
If someone is an immediate threat to themself or others, do not wait- call 911.
Are you concerned about a student at Saint Martin’s University? When students are in distress, early interventions can make a big difference in their outcomes. Anyone within the Saint Martin’s community may submit an online Saints Care referral on behalf of one or more students for any reason, including, but not limited to the following: academic, health, financial, emotional, safety or substance use concerns. The referral is then reviewed by a trusted team of Saints Care Managers at the university. A Care Manager will follow up with the student(s) and the referring person(s) to ensure that the student has access to support and resources. Please visit https://www.stmartin.edu/current-students/saints-care to learn more about the Saints Care Program and/or to submit a referral.
This service is not monitored 24/7. If there is an emergency or imminent threat to anyone's personal safety, please call 911 and then notify Public Safety at 360-438-4555.
The following helplines are 24/7, free, and confidential:
Provides emotional support for individuals experiencing thoughts of suicide, mental health crisis, subsance use concerns, or any other kind of emotional distress.
Provides crisis support to Veterans and their loved ones.
Provides support to anyone experience emotional distress related to disasters including survivors, loved ones of victims, first responders, rescue, recovery, and relief workers, clergy, and parents and caregivers.
Crisis Clinic (Thurston and Mason Counties)
Provides support, resources, information, and referrals to those in crisis in Thurston and Mason county.
Provides mental heath support via text message.
Provides crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to LGBTQ+ young people.
Provides local assistance and resources for those experiencing domestic and/or sexual violence.
National Domestic Violence Hotline
Provides support to individuals experiencing domestic and/or sexual violence.
Disclaimer:
This libguide represents a non-exhaustive list of resources and tools intended to provide support to members of the SMU community. You may use these as you see appropriate. They do not represent any particular endorsement from the library. This guide should not be used as medical advice or in lieu of medical care. Consult a physician if you are experiencing health issues or before beginning a new nutrition or exercise program.
Content and Trigger Warning:
This guide contains resources related to topics that some may find distressing including, but not limited to: substance abuse, self-harm and suicide, eating disorders, and sexual assault and violence.
| Saint Martin's University | 5000 Abbey Way SE | Lacey, WA 98503-7500 USA | Map |