Research Guides: Self-Care Resources: Mental and Emotional Health

Campus Resources

Counseling and Wellness Center (CWC)

Promotes and enhances the health and development of Saint Martin’s University students through professional mental health services, education and training.

Fall/Spring Semester: Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Appointments are scheduled between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m.

Summer: Monday-Thursday, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Friday, 9 a.m. to 12 p.m.

Saint Raphael Center, Main Floor (Building 4 on the campus map)
CounselingCWC@stmartin.edu
360-688-2016

CWC Brochure

Office of Campus Ministry

Welcoming all as Christ, Saint Martin’s University Office of Campus Ministry nurtures faith through authentic relationships that embody listening, prayer, discernment, worship, and service for the flourishing of all. We're here for you, providing hospitality & ministry, retreats, service opportunities, prayer and faith formation, fellowship, and other spiritually nourishing groups and activities.

The Dignity Center

Committed to fostering an inclusive, supportive and equitable learning environment for all members of the campus community.

Harned Hall 201-202, Lounge Harned Hall 207
dec@stmartin.edu
360-688-2881

Local and National Resources

Chehalis Tribe: "Caring for Each Other House"

Provides a safe and confidential environment where you can talk about and work through current and past issues.

Nisqually Tribe

Provides individual and group behavioral health services that are rooted in culture for the Nisqually community.

Squaxin Island Tribe

Provides behavioral health services to the Squaxin Island community.

We R Native

Provides information and resources on how to build mental resilience, understand mental health challenges, and receive support.

AAKOMA Project

Building the consciousness of intersectional Youth and Young Adults of Color and their caregivers on the recognition and importance of mental health.

Boris Lawrence Henson Foundation

Embracing ancestral roots, celebrating cultural heritage, cultivating self-love, prioritizing self-care, fostering community connections, embracing creative expression, promoting mental health education.

Therapy for Black Girls

An online space dedicated to encouraging the mental wellness of Black women and girls.

Therapy for Black Men

Provides proactive, multiculturally competent care to men of color.

Stonewall Youth

Local to Thurston County, Stonewall Youth gives support to LGBTQIA2S+ youth provided by peers.

Transfamilies

Transfamilies offer resources to families and those who love/support young people who are going through a gender transition or are gender-diverse.

Pizza Klatch

Local to Thurston County, Pizza Klatch fosters resilience in LGBTQI+ youth to create a safe & positive school experience through support, education, and empowerment.

Books

Atlas of the Heart by Brené Brown
ISBN: 9780399592553

Publication Date: 2021-11-30

"In 'Atlas of the Heart,' Brown takes us on a journey through 85 of the emotions and experiences that define what it means to be human. As she maps the necessary skills and lays out an actionable framework for meaningful connection, she gives us the language and tools to access a universe of new choices and second chances - a universe where we can share and steward the stories of our bravest and most heartbreaking moments with one another in a way that builds connection. Over the past two decades, Brown's extensive research into the experiences that make us who we are has shaped the cultural conversation and helped define what it means to be courageous with our lives. 'Atlas of the Heart' draws on this research, as well as Brown's singular skills as a researcher/storyteller, to lay out an invaluable, research-based framework that shows us that naming an experience doesn't give the experience more power, it gives us the power of understanding, meaning, and choice. Brown shares, 'I want this to be an atlas for all of us, because I believe that, with an adventurous heart and the right maps, we can travel anywhere and never fear losing ourselves. Even when we have no idea where we are.'"--Provided by publisher.
Enchantment by Katherine May
ISBN: 9780593329993

Publication Date: 2023-02-28

"From the New York Times bestselling author of Wintering, an invitation to rediscover the feelings of awe and wonder available to us all. Many of us feel trapped in a grind of constant change: rolling news cycles, the chatter of social media, our families split along partisan lines. We feel fearful and tired, on edge in our bodies, not quite knowing what has us perpetually depleted. For Katherine May, this low hum of fatigue and anxiety made her wonder what she was missing. Could there be a different way to relate to the world, one that would allow her to feel more rested and at ease, even as seismic changes unfold on the planet? Might there be a way for all of us to move through life with curiosity and tenderness, sensitized to the subtle magic all around? In Enchantment, May invites the reader to come with her on a journey to reawaken our innate sense of wonder and awe. With humor, candor, and warmth, she shares stories of her own struggles with work, family, and the aftereffects of pandemic, particularly the feelings of overwhelm as the world rushes to reopen. Craving a different way to live, May begins to explore the restorative properties of the natural world, moving through the elements of earth, water, fire, and air, and identifying the quiet traces of magic that can be found only when we look for them. Through deliberate attention and ritual, she unearths the potency and nourishment that come from quiet reconnection with our immediate environment. Blending lyricism and storytelling, sensitivity and empathy, Enchantment invites each of us to open the door to human experience in all its sensual complexity, and to find the beauty waiting for us there"--Provided by publisher.
Positive Thinking Pocketbook by Gill Hasson
ISBN: 9780857087409

Publication Date: 2018-12-28

Think your way to a more positive life Positive thinking is an approach and a set of skills that we can all learn. But it’s not just about how and what you think; you’ve got to do something! In a range of situations, positive thinking needs to be followed by positive action. The good news is that whatever life has thrown at you in the past and whatever is you want to achieve in the future, the Positive Thinking Pocketbook will help you think and behave more positively. Inside, you’ll find out how to use tips, techniques and advice on creating a positive mindset and developing your positive thinking. Next, you’ll find out how to apply that positive thinking to a range of potentially difficult situations. • Little approachable exercises make it easy to get started • Full of scenarios, ideas, advice, tips and techniques • Learn how to overcome negative thinking, get motivated and stay motivated • Discover how to make positive thinking a habit Whenever you want a shot of positivity, simply pick out a few ideas, tips and techniques that appeal to you and give them a try!
The Little Book of Hygge by Meik Wiking
ISBN: 9780062658807

Publication Date: 2017-01-17

The Danes are famously the happiest people in the world, and hygge is a cornerstone of their way of life. Hygge (pronounce Hoo-ga) loosely translates as a sense of comfort, togetherness, and well-being. You know hygge when you feel it. It is when you are cuddled up on the sofa with a loved one, or sharing comfort food with your closest friends. It is those crisp blue mornings when the light through your window is just right. It is about gratitude and savoring the simple pleasures in life. In short, it is the pursuit of everyday happiness. From picking the right lighting to organizing a Hygge get-together to dressing hygge, Wiking shows you how to experience more joy and contentment the Danish way. (Publisher description)
The Mindful Day by Laurie J. Cameron
ISBN: 9781426220340

Publication Date: 2019-03-26

Looking to discover everyday mindfulness? Laurie Cameron draws on contemplative traditions, modern neuroscience, and leading psychology to show you how to bring peace and focus to the home, in the workplace, and beyond. From waking up to joy, the morning commute, to back-to-back meetings and evening dinners she shows how mindfulness practice can help you navigate life's complexity for better living.-- adapted from back cover.

Crisis Resources

If someone is an immediate threat to themself or others, do not wait- call 911.

Saints Care

Are you concerned about a student at Saint Martin’s University? When students are in distress, early interventions can make a big difference in their outcomes. Anyone within the Saint Martin’s community may submit an online Saints Care referral on behalf of one or more students for any reason, including, but not limited to the following: academic, health, financial, emotional, safety or substance use concerns. The referral is then reviewed by a trusted team of Saints Care Managers at the university. A Care Manager will follow up with the student(s) and the referring person(s) to ensure that the student has access to support and resources. Please visit https://www.stmartin.edu/current-students/saints-care to learn more about the Saints Care Program and/or to submit a referral.

This service is not monitored 24/7. If there is an emergency or imminent threat to anyone's personal safety, please call 911 and then notify Public Safety at 360-438-4555.

Referral Form
Care Coordinator
- saintscare@stmartin.edu
- 360-438-4367

The following helplines are 24/7, free, and confidential:

988 Lifeline

Provides emotional support for individuals experiencing thoughts of suicide, mental health crisis, subsance use concerns, or any other kind of emotional distress.

Veterans Crisis Line

Provides crisis support to Veterans and their loved ones.

Call: 988 then press 1
Text: 838255
Chat Online
Servicios en Español

Disaster Distress Helpline

Provides support to anyone experience emotional distress related to disasters including survivors, loved ones of victims, first responders, rescue, recovery, and relief workers, clergy, and parents and caregivers.

Call or Text: 1-800-985-5990
Español: Llama o envía un mensaje de texto 1-800-985-5990 presiona “2.”
For Deaf and Hard of Hearing ASL Callers: Please text or call the Disaster Distress Helpline at 1-800-985-5990 using your preferred Relay provider.

Crisis Clinic (Thurston and Mason Counties)

Provides support, resources, information, and referrals to those in crisis in Thurston and Mason county.

Call: 360-586-2800

Crisis Text Line

Provides mental heath support via text message.

Text HOME to 741741
Servicios en Español

The Trevor Project

Provides crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to LGBTQ+ young people.

Call: 1-866-488-7386
Text START to 678678
Chat Online

SafePlace Olympia

Provides local assistance and resources for those experiencing domestic and/or sexual violence.

Call: 360-754-6300
TTY: 711

National Domestic Violence Hotline

Provides support to individuals experiencing domestic and/or sexual violence.