Research Guides: *Science & Mathematics: Reference sources

Find books, articles and more from the O'Grady Library Saints Search

What are reference sources?

Reference (background) sources include specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other sources. These can introduce you to a chemistry topic, assist you in finding definitions for chemistry terms or concepts, and direct you to additional articles or books on a topic.

Online Reference Resources

Periodic Table of Elements

Encyclopedias

Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry by Glenn D. Considine (Editor)
Call Number: Reference QD4 .V36 2005
ISBN: 0471615250
Publication Date: 2005-02-03
"Contains over 1,350 alphabetically arranged entries that provide information on a wide range chemistry-related terms, including discoveries, and notable people in the field, and provides illustrations, photographs and charts."
Kirk-Othmer Concise Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 2 Volume Set by Kirk-Othmer (Editor)
Call Number: Reference TP9 .K54 2007
ISBN: 9780470047484
Publication Date: 2007-07-16
"The complete 5th edition of the 27 volume version has been reduced to a concise two volume version. Every article (over 700 articles) of the full edition is included here in an abridged version. As in the full edition, the articles are signed, and contain an introduction, description of fundamental principles, and, as appropriate, brief discussion of the various methods or processes, chemical or physical properties, and manufacturing aspects. Many tables and drawings are included and each entry concludes with an abbreviated bibliography of 3-4 essential titles."
The Merck Index by Maryadele J. O'Neil (Editor)
Call Number: Reference RS51 .M4 2013
ISBN: 9781849736701
Publication Date: 2013-04-30
"A comprehensive reference work on organic chemistry that provides information on thousands of substances and structural formulas."

General reference sources

The Cambridge History of Science (6 volumes)
This series is devoted to the history of science, medicine and mathematics, beginning with Ancient Mesopotamia and classical Greece and Rome, through the Medieval period, early modern Europe, and on through modern science.

O'Grady offers access to six of eight volumes: volumes 2-7 as ebooks, plus print editions of volumes 4, 5, and 7 (call number Q125 .C32 2003).
A Dictionary of Statistics (Oxford 2014, 3rd ed)
"This invaluable dictionary covers all aspects of statistics, including terms used in computing, mathematics, and probability, presented in a clear and practical way. It also provides biographical entries on over 200 key figures in the field, plus coverage of statistical journals and societies. The new edition features expanded coverage of applied statistics."
Encyclopedia of Scientific Principles, Laws, and Theories (Greenwood 2008)
Provides descriptions of the most famous scientific concepts, principles, laws, and theories that are known in the areas of astronomy, biology, chemistry, geology, MATHEMATICS, medicine, meteorology, and physics.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Science (2008)
"Covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as MATHEMATICS and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology. Entries typically describe scientific concepts, provide overviews of scientific areas and, in some cases, define terms."
Scientific Thought (Gale 2009)
"Includes original essays written by leading experts in the field, primary source documents that articulate the interrelation of science and society, and sidebars on the cultural, economic, and political issues surrounding scientific thought -- providing insights on leading social issues and exploring the impact of science on society through the ages."

Subject Librarian

Stefanie Gorzelsky

she/hers

Email Me

Contact:

360-688-2254

*Science & Mathematics: Reference sources