*Science & Mathematics: Reference sources

This series is devoted to the history of science, medicine and mathematics, beginning with Ancient Mesopotamia and classical Greece and Rome, through the Medieval period, early modern Europe, and on through modern science.

O'Grady offers access to six of eight volumes: volumes 2-7 as ebooks, plus print editions of volumes 4, 5, and 7 (call number Q125 .C32 2003).

"This invaluable dictionary covers all aspects of statistics, including terms used in computing, mathematics, and probability, presented in a clear and practical way. It also provides biographical entries on over 200 key figures in the field, plus coverage of statistical journals and societies. The new edition features expanded coverage of applied statistics."

Provides descriptions of the most famous scientific concepts, principles, laws, and theories that are known in the areas of astronomy, biology, chemistry, geology, MATHEMATICS, medicine, meteorology, and physics.

"Covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as MATHEMATICS and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology. Entries typically describe scientific concepts, provide overviews of scientific areas and, in some cases, define terms."

"Includes original essays written by leading experts in the field, primary source documents that articulate the interrelation of science and society, and sidebars on the cultural, economic, and political issues surrounding scientific thought -- providing insights on leading social issues and exploring the impact of science on society through the ages."