Skip to Main Content

*Engineering & Technology: Reference sources

Find books, articles and more from the O'Grady Library Saints Search

What are reference sources?

Reference (background) sources include specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other sources. These can introduce you to an engineering topic, assist you in finding definitions for engineering terms or concepts, and direct you to additional articles or books on a topic.

Sample terms

Sample search terms -- engineering handbook, "mechanical engineering" handbook, "civil engineer" handbook

Online Encyclopedias

Print Encyclopedias

Online Handbooks

Mechanical Design Engineering Handbook by Peter R. N. Childs
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
"Covering the full spectrum of common mechanical and machine components that act as building blocks in the design of mechanical devices."
Handbook of Energy Engineering, Seventh Edition by Albert Thumann; D. Paul Mehta
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Handbook of Measurement in Science and Engineering by Myer Kutz (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016
"A multidisciplinary reference of engineering
measurement tools, techniques, and applications"
Modeling and Simulation Support for System of Systems Engineering Applications by Rainey & Tolk
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015

Handbooks

ASHRAE Handbook -- Reference TH7005 .A823 -- print
Springer Handbook of Robotics (2008)
"A compilation of classic and emerging application areas of robotics. From the foundations to the social and ethical implications of robotics, the handbook provides a comprehensive collection of the accomplishments in the field, and constitutes a premise of further advances towards new challenges in robotics."
Springer Handbook of Mechanical Engineering (2009)
"Covers numerous relevant mechanical engineering topics. Functions as a guide for people who design, develop, manufacture, operate, and use mechanical artifacts."
Civil Engineering Reference Manual for the PE Exam (Professional 2008) -- Circulation TA159 .L54 2008 -- print
Handbook of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (CRC 2007) -- Circulaton TJ163.3 .H356 2007 -- print
Eshbach's Handbook of Engineering Fundamentals (Wiley 2009) -- Reference TA151 .E8 2009 -- print
The Handbook of Highway Engineering (Taylor & Francis 2008) -- upper level TE151 .H344 2006 -- print
Machinery's Handbook : a Reference Book for the mechanical engineer, designer, manufacturing Engineer, Draftsman, Toolmaker, and Machinist -- upper level TJ151.M33 2008 -- print
Mechanical Design Handbook: Measurement, Analysis, and Control of Dynamic Systems (McGraw-Hill 2006) -- upper level TJ230 .M433 2006 -- print
Mechanical Engineers' Handbook (Wiley 1998) -- Reference TJ151 .M395 1998 -- print
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook (McGraw-Hill 2008) -- Reference TP151 .P45 2008 -- print
Springer Handbook of Mechanical Engineering (2009) -- Circulation TJ151 .S795 2009 -- print

Subject Librarian

(he/him)

Email Me

Contact:

Electronic Resources Librarian and Archivist,
O'Grady Library
5000 Abbey Way SE
Lacey, WA 98503

360-688-2262

Ask a librarian

Saint Martin's University

5000 Abbey Way SE

Lacey, WA 98503-7500 USA