Research Guides: *Engineering & Technology: Reference sources

Find books, articles and more from the O'Grady Library Saints Search

What are reference sources?

Reference (background) sources include specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other sources. These can introduce you to topics helpful during the WaV2Tech program, assist you in finding definitions for terms or concepts, and direct you to additional articles or books on a topic.

General reference sources

Artificial Intelligence (Lucent 2011)
"Explores the impact of advances such as cell phones, portable music players, and online social networks. This volume focuses on artificial intelligence in detail, tracing the history and scientific breakthroughs leading to its creation."
Computer Sciences (Macmillan 2013, 2nd ed)
"reviews the history of computer science, discusses concepts, and profiles contributors in the field. Also explores the impact of computers on society, with examples in literature and film to illustrate and support trends. Includes illustrations, sidebars, bibliographies, filmographies, timelines, charts, and a glossary. For general audiences."
Cybercrime (Greenhaven 2014)
"Information security; Law enforcement and corrections; Computer crime; Law; Computing and information technology industries; Computer science; Science and technology law."
A Dictionary of Computing (Oxford 2008, 6th ed)
A Dictionary of the Internet (Oxford 2013, 3rd ed)
Encyclopedia of Scientific Principles, Laws, and Theories (Greenwood 2008)
Provides descriptions of the most famous scientific concepts, principles, laws, and theories that are known in the areas of astronomy, biology, chemistry, geology, MATHEMATICS, medicine, meteorology, and physics.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Science (2008)
"Covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as MATHEMATICS and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology. Entries typically describe scientific concepts, provide overviews of scientific areas and, in some cases, define terms."
Scientific Thought (Gale 2009)
"Includes original essays written by leading experts in the field, primary source documents that articulate the interrelation of science and society, and sidebars on the cultural, economic, and political issues surrounding scientific thought -- providing insights on leading social issues and exploring the impact of science on society through the ages." Several essays on mathematics.
Springer Handbook of Robotics (2008)
"A compilation of classic and emerging application areas of robotics. From the foundations to the social and ethical implications of robotics, the handbook provides a comprehensive collection of the accomplishments in the field, and constitutes a premise of further advances towards new challenges in robotics."