*Engineering & Technology: Online resources (general)

"AITopics is a mediated information portal provided by AAAI (The Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence), with the goal of communicating the science and applications of AI to interested people around the world."

"CoRR allows researchers to search, browse and download papers through its online repository. CoRR is available to all members of of the community at no charge."

"The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals, thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. In short, the DOAJ aims to be the one-stop shop for users of open access journals."

"The E-print Network is a vast, integrated network of electronic scientific and technical information created by scientists and research engineers active in their respective fields, all full-text searchable. E-print Network is intended for use by other scientists, engineers, and students at advanced levels. "

"Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance."

Free online access to conference proceedings since 2008

"This book is a hands-on introduction to the principles and practice of looking at and presenting data using R and ggplot."

"ASP.NET Core MVC is a rich framework for building web apps and APIs using the Model-View-Controller design pattern."

"Thanks for picking up The Little ASP.NET Core Book! I wrote this short
book to help developers and people interested in web programming
learn about ASP.NET Core, a new framework for building web
applications and APIs.
The Little ASP.NET Core Book is structured as a tutorial. You'll build an
application from start to finish and learn:
The basics of the MVC (Model-View-Controller) pattern
How front-end code (HTML, CSS, JavaScript) works together with
back-end code
What dependency injection is and why it's useful
How to read and write data to a database
How to add log-in, registration, and security
How to deploy the application to the web"

"OpenSimulator is an open source multi-platform, multi-user 3D application server. It can be used to create a virtual environment (or world) which can be accessed through a variety of clients, on multiple protocols. "

"Representing information is fundamental to computer science. The primary
purpose of most computer programs is not to perform calculations, but to store and
retrieve information — usually as fast as possible. For this reason, the study of
data structures and the algorithms that manipulate them is at the heart of computer
science. And that is what this book is about — helping you to understand how to
structure information to support efficient processing."

"This book presents three topics: Data structures; Analysis of algorithms; and Information retrieval"

"Offered as an introduction to the field of data structures and algorithms, Open Data Structures covers the implementation and analysis of data structures for sequences (lists), queues, priority queues, unordered dictionaries, ordered dictionaries, and graphs. Focusing on a mathematically rigorous approach that is fast, practical, and efficient, Morin clearly and briskly presents instruction along with source code."

"The most comprehensive IDE for .NET and C++ developers on Windows for building web, cloud, desktop, mobile apps, services and games." - Community edition is free

"dblp currently indexes over 2.6 million publications, published by more than 1.4 million authors. To this end, dblp indexes about than 25 000 journal volumes, more than 24 000 conferences or workshops, and more than 17 000 monographs."

"CiteSeerx is an evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science. CiteSeerx aims to improve the dissemination of scientific literature and to provide improvements in functionality, usability, availability, cost, comprehensiveness, efficiency, and timeliness in the access of scientific and scholarly knowledge."

"Here you will find webcasts of the Internet pioneers, scholars and regulators who have spoken at the Oxford Internet Institute, covering areas such as: social media, internet regulation, safety and security online, e-government and democracy, civil society, open access, e-learning, citizen journalism, and the future of the Internet itself."

"Grow your data science skills by competing in our exciting competitions."

"... organization for computing professionals, delivering resources that advance computing as a science and a profession; enable professional development; and promote policies and research that benefit society"

"Founded in 1979, the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI) (formerly the American Association for Artificial Intelligence) is a nonprofit scientific society devoted to advancing the scientific understanding of the mechanisms underlying thought and intelligent behavior and their embodiment in machines. AAAI aims to promote research in, and responsible use of, artificial intelligence. AAAI also aims to increase public understanding of artificial intelligence, improve the teaching and training of AI practitioners, and provide guidance for research planners and funders concerning the importance and potential of current AI developments and future directions."

"he Association for Women in Computing (AWC) was founded in Washington, D.C. in 1978 and is one of the first professional organizations for women in computing. AWC is dedicated to promoting the advancement of women in the computing professions. Our members include many types of computer professionals, such as programmers, system analysts, operators, technical writers, Internet specialists, trainers and consultants."

"CPSR is a global organization promoting the responsible use of computer technology. Founded in 1981, CPSR educates policymakers and the public on a wide range of issues. CPSR has incubated numerous projects such as Privaterra, the Public Sphere Project, EPIC (the Electronic Privacy Information Center), the 21st Century Project, the Civil Society Project, and the CFP (Computers, Freedom & Privacy) Conference. Originally founded by U.S. computer scientists, CPSR now has members in 26 countries on six continents."

"The Computing Research Association (CRA) is an association of more than 200 North American academic departments of computer science, computer engineering, and related fields; laboratories and centers in industry, government, and academia engaging in basic computing research; and affiliated professional societies."

"IEEE, pronounced "Eye-triple-E," stands for the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers."

"This book is meant as a serious and more-or-less thorough text for an introductory college or graduate course in computer networks, carefully researched, with consistent notation and style, and complete with diagrams and exercises. I have also tried to rethink the explanations of many protocols and algorithms, with the goal of making them easier to understand. "

"Welcome to Operating Systems: Three Easy Pieces (now version 1.00 -- see book news for details), a free online operating systems book! The book is centered around three conceptual pieces that are fundamental to operating systems: virtualization, concurrency, and persistence. In understanding the conceptual, you will also learn the practical, including how an operating system does things like schedule the CPU, manage memory, and store files persistently."

"If you are an upper-level computer science student who wants to understand how
contemporary operating systems and middleware products work and why they work that way, this book is for you. In this book, you will find many forms of balance. The high-level application programmer’s view, focused on the services that system software provides, is balanced with a lower-level perspective, focused on the mechanisms used to provide those services"

"Never learned Linux? Want a refresh? Develop a good working knowledge of Linux using both the graphical interface and command line across the major Linux distribution families."

"VirtualBox is a general-purpose full virtualizer for x86 hardware, targeted at server, desktop and embedded use."

"The Kali Linux penetration testing platform contains a vast array of tools and utilities. From information gathering to final reporting, Kali Linux enables security and IT professionals to assess the security of their systems."

"PALADIN is a bootable forensic Linux distribution based on Ubuntu and is developed and provided as a courtesy by SUMURI. The boot process has been modified to assure that the internal or external media of computers and devices are not modified or mounted.

Once booted, the user will find a host of precompiled open-source forensic tools that can be used to perform various tasks. The centerpiece of these tools is the PALADIN Toolbox.

The PALADIN Toolbox has combined and simplified multiple forensic tasks into an easy to use GUI (graphical user interface) that requires minimal training and does not require users to utilize the command line."