*Humanities: Online resources

This is a directory of online text projects that use the TEI encoding system. Many are archives of primary source documents.

Search classic books, historical newspapers, maps, and photos related to Washington History. Includes collections on Thurston County Pioneers, Governors of Washington State, and World War I, among others.

"English Language and Literature Studies (ELLS) is an international, double-blind peer-reviewed, open-access journal. ELLS is published by the Canadian Center of Science and Education in both print and online versions. ELLS is striving to provide the best platform for researchers and scholars worldwide to exchange their latest findings. The scopes of the journal include, but are not limited to, the following topics: literature written in the English language, English linguistics, translation studies and related areas. This journal is published in both print and online versions."

"Studies in Gothic Fiction is an online refereed academic journal devoted to the study of the Gothic from its beginnings in the eighteenth century to the present. Bringing together well-known scholars and students, each issue of Studies in Gothic Fiction will contain insightful articles and book reviews. Occasionally, special issues under the direction of a Guest Editor will concentrate on a specific author or theme."

"Inquire is a peer-reviewed, open-access online journal of Comparative Literature by graduate students in the Comparative Literature Program at the University of Alberta that serves the intellectual and professional interests of an international community of students, teachers and scholars."

"LibriVox audiobooks are free for anyone to listen to, on their computers, iPods or other mobile device, or to burn onto a CD."

"This is a collection of short essays on literature. Various subjects are discussed, such as libraries, critics, the classics, and all sorts of things which, in the opinion of Mr. Disraeli, a writer or a reader can do right or wrong. Any bibliophile may expect to be entertained and edified by Mr. Disraeli's musings. - Summary by Carolin"

"The Library of the World's Best Literature, Ancient and Modern, is a work of enormous proportions. Setting out with the simple goal of offering "American households a mass of good reading", the editors drew from literature of all times and all kinds what they considered the best pieces of human writing, and compiled an ambitious collection of 45 volumes (with a 46th being an index-guide). Besides the selection and translation of a huge number of poems, letters, short stories and sections of books, the collection offers, before each chapter, a short essay about the author or subject in question. The result is a collection that holds the interest, for the variety of subjects and forms, but also as a means of first contact with such famous and important authors that many people have heard of, but never read, such as Abelard, Dante or Lord Byron. According to the editor Charles Dudley Warner, this collection "is not a library of reference only, but a library to be read."

"The Middle English Compendium contains three Middle English electronic resources: the Middle English Dictionary, a Bibliography of Middle English prose and verse, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse."

"The goal of the TEAMS Middle English Texts Series is to make available to teachers and students texts which occupy an important place in the literary and cultural canon but which have not been readily available in student editions. The focus is upon literature adjacent to that normally in print, which teachers need in compiling the syllabi they wish to teach. The editions maintain the linguistic integrity of the original works but within the parameters of modern reading conventions."

"The Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language (ARTFL) is a cooperative enterprise of the Laboratoire ATILF (Analyse et Traitement Informatique de la Langue Française) of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), the Division of the Humanities, and Electronic Text Services (ETS) of the University of Chicago."

"Discover 1,400 collection items, 171 articles, 25 films, 36 teachers’ notes and more. Discovering Literature has been supported since its inception by Dr Naim Dangoor CBE, Dangoor Education."

"The Shakespeare Quartos Archive is a digital collection of pre-1642 editions of William Shakespeare's plays. A cross-Atlantic collaboration has also produced an interactive interface for the detailed study of these geographically distant quartos, with full functionality for all thirty-two quarto copies of Hamlet held by participating institutions."

"The Victorian Women Writers Project (VWWP) began in 1995 at Indiana University and is primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more. VWWP contains scores of authors, both prolific and rare."

"Enjoy great stories | Explore what makes you curious | Share the best in art, history, and literature with friends and family at the world’s largest Shakespeare collection."

"Our [Internet Shakespeare Editions] aim is to inspire a love of Shakespeare's works by delivering open-access, peer-reviewed Shakespeare resources with the highest standards of scholarship, design, and usability. Since 1996, the ISE website has been an innovator in providing academic resources for the online digital medium. "

"Romantic Circles is a refereed scholarly Website devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture. It is the collaborative product of an ever-expanding community of editors, contributors, and users around the world, overseen by a distinguished Advisory Board."

"The "Library of Southern Literature" includes a wide range of literary works of the American South published before 1924. This collection was originally based on Dr. Robert Bain's bibliography of the hundred most important southern literary works and continues to expand under the guidance of scholarly advisors Dr. Joseph M. Flora and Dr. William L. Andrews. This collection begins with some of the earliest texts about America written by British discoverers that set the foundation for American letters and traces the development of southern literature through to the beginning of the twentieth century"

A list of resources organized by author (some links may no longer work).

"The Dickinson Electronic Archives (DEA), a website devoted to the study of Emily Dickinson, her writing practices, writings directly influencing her work, and critical and creative writings generated by her work. "

"Emily Dickinson Archive makes high-resolution images of Dickinson’s surviving manuscripts available in open access, and provides readers with a website through which they can view images of manuscripts held in multiple libraries and archives. This first phase of the EDA includes images for the corpus of poems identified in The Poems of Emily Dickinson: Variorum Edition, edited by R. W. Franklin (Cambridge: Belknap Press of the Harvard University Press, 1998)."

"Mark Twain Project Online applies innovative technology to more than four decades' worth of archival research by expert editors at the Mark Twain Project. It offers unfettered, intuitive access to reliable texts, accurate and exhaustive notes, and the most recently discovered letters and documents"

"The Walt Whitman Archive endeavors to make Whitman's vast work freely and conveniently accessible to scholars, students, and general readers"

"The Willa Cather Foundation is a not-for-profit organization created in 1955 that owns and operates the National Willa Cather Center and the nation's largest collection of nationally-designated historic sites dedicated to an American author."

"The purpose of the University of Central Florida Hurston Archive is to create an academic web site that will provide a repository of biographical, critical, and contextual materials related to Hurston's life and work. "