Research Guides: *Social Sciences: Communication studies Databases

Find books, articles and more from the O'Grady Library Saints Search

Explore Journals with BrowZine

Top picks for Communication studies

Communication & Mass Media Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
With content in mass media, communication studies and other closely related fields, this database, provided by EBSCOhost, provides coverage of more than 820 titles with full text for over 500 journals.
Communications and Mass Media - Gale Onefile This link opens in a new window
"Search millions of articles covering all aspects of communications, including advertising, public relations, and more."
Pop Culture Studies - Gale Onefile This link opens in a new window
"Access scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture."
Screen Studies Collection - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
"A comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed and expansive filmographies."
Contemporary Women's Issues - Gale Onefile This link opens in a new window
"Find timely and historically relevant content on issues that influence women’s lives across the globe."
Diversity Studies - Gale Onefile This link opens in a new window
"Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community."

Below are specific searches from JSTOR:

JSTOR--communications studies
A targeted collection
NOTE: Most content in JSTOR is at least 3-5 years old
JSTOR--cultural studies
A targeted collection
NOTE: Most content in JSTOR is at least 3-5 years old
JSTOR--gender studies
A targeted collection
NOTE: Most content in JSTOR is at least 3-5 years old
JSTOR--feminist and women's studies
A targeted collection
NOTE: Most content in JSTOR is at least 3-5 years old
JSTOR--African American studies
A targeted collection
NOTE: Most content in JSTOR is at least 3-5 years old
JSTOR--American Indian studies
A targeted collection
NOTE: Most content in JSTOR is at least 3-5 years old
JSTOR--film studies
A targeted collection
NOTE: Most content in JSTOR is at least 3-5 years old

General databases

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive academic database that covers many subjects and includes many formats
Academic Search Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
"Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database"
Academic - Gale Onefile This link opens in a new window
"Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research."
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database that covers many topics, including communications
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
An "extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world"
Political Science Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
A database that focuses specifically on topics associated with political science
Environmental Science Collection - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
"Contains environmental science related full-text articles"
PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
"An excellent source for finding research materials related to public policy"
Sociological Abstracts - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
"International literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences"
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage of local, state, national and international newspapers from NewsBank
News & Newspapers - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A newspaper database with a particular focus on national and international news sources